photography, rural life, writing

Writing Down My Soul

The following is my first post as a participant of Blogging 101.  My assignment was to “Introduce Yourself to the World,” and share why I’m here in the blogosphere.  So why do I blog?

Sunset Landscape

Wyoming is both a friendly and incredibly lonely place.  Her towns and cities are filled with kind, caring, wonderful people who will give you the shirts off their backs.  But those places are widespread and far flung.  In between are some remote places, lonely stretches and beautiful sites.

That’s a pretty good analogy to my life.  My husband is a wildlife biologist by trade, raising wildlife for a living.   His career has taken us to some beautiful, if remote, places.  I have amazing days filled with friends, family and laughter.  But sometimes, those days are spread out and I’m left with a lot of quiet, lonely afternoons with nothing to do but laundry while my little one sleeps.  So I blog.

I blog to share funny stories, ideas and experiences with family and friends.  I blog as a way to showcase my developing interest in photography.  And I blog to educate and advocate about the things I am most passionate about – Wyoming, wildlife, agriculture and life in rural America.

But mostly I blog because writing is, and always has been, part of what makes my soul whole.  I wrote my first published story in first grade (Three Cheetahs and a Tiger won a local Young Authors Award :-)).  In 3rd grade, I started journaling.  In college, I found a major that let me write about my passion for agriculture.  I have never really NOT been a writer.  Journals, fiction, non-fiction, essays, technical pieces, news releases, ghost writing, news articles…it doesn’t matter what format, I’m at my best, my happiest,  when I’m writing.

By contrast, photography is something I just recently fell in love with.  I love the challenge of capturing photos that speak to me while being technically correct.  And sometimes, a picture really is worth a thousand words, and a good photo tells a story in ways that my writing never could.

These days, my time is precious.  I am a stay-at-home  mom to my dynamic daughter, Wyokiddo; a full-time wife to the ever-supportive Outdoor Guy; caretaker of our home at the Downar Bird Farm; unofficial photographer of 18,000 pheasants;  and part-time public relations and social media coordinator for the Wyoming FFA.  The time may not be there to write, but the need never goes away.

So for me, blogging is a way to satisfy my urge to write and provides a creative outlet.  I still journal privately when I need to sort through emotions.  But I blog to record, in written word and amateur photo, all the small moments that make up my rich and blessed life.

If someone reads what I write on this blog and laughs, or cries, or is inspired, that would be wonderful.  If they see my photo and fall in love with Wyoming, that’s great.  If I can persuade people to look at wildlife management or American agriculture differently, that would make me happy.  But at heart, I blog for entirely selfish reasons.

Photography makes my heart happy and writing sets my soul free.

Teresa

2 thoughts on “Writing Down My Soul”

Leave a Reply

