Kids, parenting, photography

Here’s to Kairos time

Farmer Emily 3Recently, a friend of mine shared a blog post called Don’t Carpe Diem.  In all honesty, I didn’t care for the post.  But she does reference “Kairos” time, and the concept resonated with me.

Wikipedia defines Kairos as follows:

  1. Kairos (καιρός) is an ancient Greek word meaning the right or opportune moment (the supreme moment). The ancient Greeks had two words for time, chronos and kairos. While the former refers to chronological or sequential time, the latter signifies a time lapse, a moment of indeterminate time in which everything happens.

In Christian theology, kairos is “the appointed time in the purpose of God.”

No matter which definition you prefer, the concept is a powerful one.

As a mother, and wife, I can get caught up in chronos time.  When time did Wyokiddo get up?  How long did she nap?  How long will it take me to get dinner on the table?  How long to I have to tinker with my blog before my husband needs the computer?

But sometimes, I get out of my own head and just enjoy the moment instead of worrying about what should, or could, come next.

As the blog author described her interpretation of kairos time, I couldn’t help but think back to this photo, one of my favorite I’ve taken of Wyokiddo this summer.  She was having fun picking up dandelions and blowing the seeds into the wind.  Watching her that night, in that moment, time stopped for me.  I wasn’t worried about if she knew her ABCs well enough or if she watched too much TV.  I didn’t care if we were late for bedtime or if the house got vacuumed that night.  I simply enjoyed an amazing moment with my beautiful, precious, precocious 3-year old.

I need more of those moments.  No, wait.  More accurately, I need to make space in my life for more of those moments.  Because kairos moments happen all the time.  I’m just too wrapped up in myself and the worries of my day to notice.

So here’s to letting go of the chronos and embracing the kairos moments, when the world stops and love and life and happiness and sadness come together in a glorious, shining moment.

Leave a Reply

