astronomy, nature, photography

A lunartic no more!

I’ve always been frustrated when photographing the moon.  It seemed like no matter what settings I used or what I metered off of, I ended up with nothing but a folder of big, white blobs.  It was enough to make an amateur photographer go lunartic.

In preparation for tonight’s lunar eclipse, I decided to do a little research.  A quick Pinterest search of “photographing the moon” revealed some wonderful articles and insight into what I’ve been doing wrong.  Which was pretty much everything.

Armed with settings to use as a starting point, (ISO 200, f/11, 1/250) I went to work shooting the moon.

What a difference!  The clouds swept in and mucked up the coolest moments of the eclipse, but I did get some much, much, much improved images.

This is why I LOVE photography.  There is always something new to learn and infinite resources available to hone my skills.

I am a lunartic no more!

Teresa

Lunar Eclipse

Leave a Reply

