food, recipe

Monday Yumminess: Stir-Fried Green Beans

Stir Fry Green Beans

I grew up primarily on canned green beans and corn, iceberg lettuce, and frozen broccoli.  Oh sure, we’d occasionally have some cauliflower or carrots or GAG!?! peas.  My limited vegetable pool was one part my own finickiness and one part that was just how our family operated.

Now, I’m a veggie lover, and it just doesn’t get better than fresh vegetables.  Fresh peppers, Swiss chard, parsnips, rutabaga, squash…if it’s a vegetable, it’s consumed at our house.  Even peas, the spherical nemesis of my childhood, are welcome guests at our dinner table.

But my favorite of all is green beans.  Most of the time, I just steam fresh green beans and serve them as a simple, unadorned side.  Occasionally, I revert to my childhood and serve them from a can.  But when I want to really mix things up, I break out these Stir-Fried Green Beans.  They’re simple, garlicky and delicious.  Wyokiddo loves this recipe so much, we have to limit the amount she receives so she won’t eat herself sick on them.  They are that good.

This recipe is also great with asparagus, broccoli and cabbage.  If you like an extra kick, add a pinch of crushed red pepper or a splash of Sriracha.  Try it as a side to your favorite Chinese dish for takeout without ever going out!

Stir Fried Green Beans

Ingredients

  • 1 lb fresh green beans
  • 1/2 tbsp sesame oil, 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • sesame seeds for garnish (optional)

For Sauce:

  • 4 tsp soy sauce (I use low-sodium or it can get a little salty)
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp sherry

Instructions

  1. Stir fry beans in oil, garlic and ginger over medium to medium-high  until crisp tender.
  2. Add sauce to beans and steam until tender.
  3. Garnish with sesame seeds, if desired. Serve.
Leave a Reply

