nature, photography, Uncategorized, wildlife

If It Sounds Like a Hawk…

Blue Jay CRAll morning, I’ve been hearing a red-tailed hawk outside through our open living room windows.  I poked my head outside a few times and tried to see where the hawk was.  But I could never catch it.  As I was standing there searching for the hawk in vain, I heard the noise again.  But it didn’t come from a hawk.  It came from a blue jay.

Blue jays have the ability to mimic the calls of other birds, including hawks.  No one really knows why they do it.  It might be to warn other jays there is actually a hawk in the area, or to intimidate other birds.

I don’t know if it fooled the the other birds, but it certainly fooled me!

Teresa

Leave a Reply

