nature, photography, Uncategorized, wildlife

Waiting for a Train

Killdeer on the Railroad TracksWyokiddo and I made our way home via the back roads yesterday and ran into this little killdeer.  The sight of her just hanging out on the tracks made me think of a song my dad used to sing to me.

“My pocketbook is empty my heart is willed with pain
I’m a thousand miles away from home just waitin’ for a train.”

Jimmie Rodgers did it best, but hey, a girl has to try.

Teresa

1 thought on “Waiting for a Train”

  1. Up until a few weeks ago, I thought Killdeer were only found near the ocean. Boy, was I wrong. We have then hanging around our camp in the back country in Idaho. Pretty birds with a distinct sound.

    Like

Leave a Reply

