country life, photography, Uncategorized, Weekly Photo Challenge

Cherry On Top

Emily SplashingMy response to the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Cherry on top.

While Outdoor Guy toiled away tending to pheasants, Wyokiddo and I spent some time cooling off in the town pool.  She swam and splashed her way through the better part of the afternoon as I kept one eye on her and one eye on a burgeoning thunderstorm toward the south.

When my little water bug had her fill, we headed for home.  As our car climbed out of the valley and headed toward the bird farm, the tail end of the storm I’d been watching crossed the plains up ahead.  A solid wall of white and gray clouds extended as far as I could see from east to west.  I hoped it meant rain, because we have been oh so very, very dry here in the Inter-mountain West.

Excited, I called Outdoor Guy and confirmed that it was indeed raining at our house.  By the time I pulled into the driveway, the water falling from the sky was oscillating between big, fat raindrops and pea-sized hail.  My husband met me at our unattached garage with raincoats for me and Wyokiddo so we wouldn’t get soaked dashing to the house.

It is only our second summer here in Goshen County, Wyoming, so we don’t really have a yardstick of measurement.  But all of our friends and colleagues are saying it has been one of the hottest, driest summers they can remember.  Outdoor Guy and I were practically giddy with excitement at the moisture.  Thirty minutes later, the skies were clear and we were left with 6/10s of an inch of rain and cooler temperatures in the wake of the storm.

The cherry on top was the chance for Wyokiddo to go splashing in puddles.  Life is always better when there are puddles.

Teresa

 

4 thoughts on “Cherry On Top”

  1. I agree, puddles are the best except for when the puddles become ditches in the road. It’s been 100 or more at the Ranger Station and here for way too many days. Add the humidity and it’s been a summer / year for the record books. We had 11 inches of rain last week. Not the sandy ground is begging for more.
    I loved how your hubby met you with raincoats. Great post. Stay cool amd dry unless you are at a watering hole. Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

