country life, Uncategorized, Wyoming

Stinky Dog Shaming

photo

I should go for a walk, I said.  It will be great, I said.  I’ll let the dogs come and stretch their legs, I said.

And then the white dog found a skunk.

It’s my fault.  I’ve been lulled into a false sense of security out here on the open plains of Southeastern Wyoming and the lack of charismatic mega fauna.  In our previous domiciles, I had moose and bears to worry about.  None of those here, so I let my guard down and went for a walk at dusk.  Bad idea.  A really, stinky, bad idea.

Instead of spending a leisurely evening on the couch with my betrothed, the evening for Outdoor Guy and I consisted of a a trip to town for peroxide and bathing said dog by headlamp.

Damn dog.  It’s a good things she’s cute.

By the way, if you ever need to deskunk your own dog, skip the tomato juice and try this.  It’s Outdoor Guy’s tried and true mix and served him well during his hunting-with-a-hound days.

1 quart hydrogen peroxide
1/4 cup baking soda
1 tsp liquid dish soap

Mix the ingredients in a container without a lid and wash the dog with the mix.  Rinse the dog thoroughly, the wash the dog again with standard dog shampoo.  It really did work wonders on the stinky dog.  Be careful as the mix can bleach your clothes or even your dogs hair.

Damn dog.

Teresa

2 thoughts on “Stinky Dog Shaming”

Leave a Reply

