nature, photography, Uncategorized, wildlife, Wyoming

Floating Hubcap

This is how I spent my morning…crawling along an irrigation ditch, camera in hand, trying to stalk a massive snapping turtle.

I spent an hour this morning watching this snapping turtle cruise down our irrigation ditch. It was amazing to see how he’d drift along, then raise his tail to use as a rudder. We see this turtle each spring. I’m guessing he’s pretty old because he is absolutely massive. His entire carapace is probably bigger than a foot and a half across. He lifted his head out of the water once, briefly, before submerging completely and I lost sight of him.

Turtles, frogs and other things that creep and crawl might not be as majestic as a grizzly bear or regal as the wolf, but they are still fascinating creatures. I for one am glad that our state is filled with the good, the bad and the ugly. Makes life more interesting, don’t you think?

Snapping Turtle-1DRWSnapping Turtle-3DRWSnapping Turtle-4DRW

3 thoughts on “Floating Hubcap”

  1. Enjoy your blog. Not many blogs in this state.
    Lived here since 1980 and had no idea that snapping turtles are found here.I have never seen any kind of turtle in wyoming.
    jv

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by! To be honest, I didn’t have much experience with turtles up until a few years ago. Snapping turtles are mostly found on the eastern side of the state and in the Big Horn Basin. I’d never seen one until I moved to Goshen County! I think Wyoming officially has four wild turtles…snapping turtles, box turtles, spiny softshell turtles and painted turtles. We see painted turtles pretty frequently around here because of the network of waterways established for irrigation. I’ve never seen a spiny softshell myself, but I hope to. They are quite unusual looking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

